Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Press Release on New Senate District

After the census all legislative districts had to be adjusted. The Board of Apportionment approved the new maps (Senate and House) on July 29th. Clike the link to go to the Board of Apportionment's website to see the maps.

August 15, 2011

New Legislative Boundaries Approved for Western Arkansas

Effective the 29th of August the new state Senate and House districts will go into effect. The Board of Apportionment has approved the new boundaries for state Senate and House districts in Arkansas. Formerly Senate District 20, now Senate District 10, the district now represented by Senator Larry Teague of Nashville will change. Counties new to the district include all of Montgomery County and portions of Clark and Nevada. Senator Teague loses the western portion of Sevier County and gains the northeast portion of Polk County and still includes Pike and Howard Counties and a portion of Hempstead and Sevier counties. Based on the new census numbers Senator Teague’s district needed to grow by approximately 10,000.

Teague’s contact information is 870-845-5303 or P.O. Box 903, Nashville, AR 71852. His email address is Larry.Teague@senate.ar.gov

"I look forward to working with the people who have been added to my district and I am sorry to lose those in Sevier County," Teague said. "I have worked hard to develop relationships and I expect to make many new friends in the new portions. They share the same values and interests as the people I have been representing -- they believe in hard work, good schools and conservative budgeting, so I think the transition to a new Senate district will be pretty smooth."

District 10 will pick up the northwest half of Clark County west of Interstate 30, including the southern shore of Lake DeGray. However, most of the city of Arkadelphia will be in Senate District 12. Teague's new district also will pick up the northwest corner of Nevada County, including areas on the northern and western edges of Prescott, everything west of Interstate 30.

Every 10 years after the U.S. Census, the Board of Apportionment draws new legislative boundaries to reflect shifts in population. After the new boundaries are finalized, each Arkansas state Senate district will have close to 83,300 residents. When the previous maps were drawn in 2001, each Senate district had about 76,000 residents.

The Board of Apportionment consists of the governor, the attorney general and the secretary of state.

No comments: