Tuesday, January 8, 2013

A News Release

This release went out to local papers recently. My friends Representative Steel & Stewart received the award also. 

January 3, 2013

Senate Information Office: 501-682-5954

LITTLE ROCK - Senator Larry Teague of Nashville has received the Outstanding Conservationist/Community Leader Award for 2012 from the Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts.

“I’m very grateful for this award,” Teague said. “It means a lot to me because I have great respect for the work done by our conservation districts.“

“I know how hard they work, and I know how much they are committed to preserving our soil and water for future generations.  I’m truly thankful,” Teague said.

The award recognizes Teague’s legislative efforts to strengthen the financial foundation of the Conservation Districts.  For example, in the previous regular session he sponsored Act 804, which authorizes specialty license tags.  Revenue from the fees for renewing the tags will go to the Conservation Districts for education programs and for landowner assistance.

Also, Teague was instrumental in the passage of Act 535, a Joint Budget Committee bill that appropriated $250,000 in grants to conservation districts.
Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.
Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources.

No comments: